Once Upon A Romance

Once Upon A Romance's Review Of...
Bridge to a Distant Star by Carolyn Williford

onceuponaromance.net

Cover art: Bridge to a Distant Star Reviewer: Amy Lignor
Title: Bridge to a Distant Star
Author: Carolyn Williford
Publisher: David C. Cook
ISBN-13: 978-1-4347-6703-5
Release Date: June 2011
Genre/Sub-genre: Inspirational Fiction
Year/Setting: 2009/Various U.S./Florida
Overall Rating: 3.0
Sexual Content Rating: None/Subtle
Language (Profanity/Slang) Content Rating: None/Mild
Violent Content Rating: Moderate/Intense
Carolyn's Website: www.carolynswilliford.com


Dear Reader:

For fans of Christian Fiction, Carolyn Williford’s book certainly fits well into that category. The solid presentation of stories will make all readers think more about fate, faith, and the fact that - no matter what you do - there will sometimes be regrets that you and others will just have to learn to live with.

When we begin our story, we begin with an old sailor. This captain loves the sea, but he’s growing tired. Right now, he’s trying to fight the wind and the rain and the force of the unyielding waves in order to sail his boat the ‘correct’ way. He can barely see the buoy’s bouncing up and down in the water, and is praying for Mother Nature to back off.

In Book I, we meet up with four women who have been friends since college. Each one has been there for the other through marriages, kids, divorces -everything. One of the women, Emilie, announces that she is going through a rough "marriage" wave, but she truly believes that God wants she and her husband to stay together and have, yet another, child. When she simply ‘forgives and forgets’ an indiscretion, her friend Maureen is thrown for a loop. Maureen and her own husband have been struggling, and the kids have been relentless on her; she doesn’t know if she should keep her job and, frankly, Maureen is losing the woman she once knew she was. Fighting the world around her, Maureen decides to step back and take a breath, while she tries to figure out if she’s a wife and mother…or a hypocrite.

In Book II, a young man named Charlie wants nothing more than to make his father proud. Charlie is barely 14 and has it all - looks, a kind heart, tons of friends, and is the best soccer player on the field. His father always cheers for his boy and lets Charlie know where he’ll go to school, what he will do in life, and where his destiny will lead him. As far as he’s concerned, Dad KNOWS Charlie will be the best of the best. But when Charlie gets injured during a game, the ‘plan’ goes from black to white overnight.

In Book III, readers meet a lovely girl name Michal, a missionary student from Ethiopia, who is attending McMasters Bible College. This is a girl with one of the biggest spirits and kindest souls in the world…who seems to know nothing about the dark side of life. When she crosses paths with the wrong boy, and sees her friend going through the struggle of her life, Michal finds solace by visiting a relative in Florida. She needs to take some time to understand the ways of the world, and rise above them.

When the ‘Books’ meet, readers will find the ultimate surprise. The plot is well-done, tying the stories together in order to give a lesson in faith and life. However, the thing that was missing for this reader was the inspiration. Although they were solid stories, it felt as if the darkness never let in the light.

Until next time,
Amy

Question or comment regarding the review or the book? Click here and let Amy know.





Top
Reviews
Featured Reviews
Archived Reviews




© All Rights Reserved 2003-2011