Once Upon A Romance

Once Upon A Romance's Review Of...
Shadows of the Redwoods by Gillian Summers


Cover art: Shadows of the Redwoods Reviewer: Amy Lignor
Title: Shadows of the Redwoods - 1st in the Scions of Shadow Trilogy
Author: Gillian Summers
Publisher: Flux
ISBN-13: 978-0-7387-1552-0
Release Date: June 2010
Genre/Sub-genre: YA Fantasy Fiction
Publisher’s Age/Grade Recommendation: 12 and Up
OUAR’s Age/Grade Recommendation: 12 and Up
Year/Setting: Present day, The Dread Forest, Oregon
Overall Rating: 4.0
Sexual Content Rating: None
Language (Profanity/Slang) Content Rating: None
Violent Content Rating: Minimal/Moderate (Sorcery/Magic)
Gillian's Website/Blog: www.gilliansummers.com

Dear Readers:

The Faire Folk Saga has been going on for quite some time (thankfully) and the two authors that join together to create "Gillian Summers" have done it again. The Scions of Shadow Trilogy is a new, darker trilogy than their first, and with this second novel we are thrown into the harrowing mystery of the Redwood Forest tree shepherd who has disappeared under mysterious circumstances.

Our main character, as always, is Keelie Heartwood. For a little background, Keelie is originally from California, where she lived the life of a "princess." When her mother passed away, Keelie gave up the life of a semi-spoiled mall brat and was moved by her father to the Dread Forest in Oregon. Her entire life is different now – very< different. Not only is she a half-elf (which she found out when she moved in with her elven dad), but what she always thought was an allergy to trees, turned out to be a sensitivity to magic, and the telepathic language of the trees. The Dread Forest also plays home to her horrific, stern – yet, elegant – elf grandmother who is always on Keelie’s case. I could go on and on for readers who have not experienced these fantastic trilogies from the very beginning, but I don’t want to spoil the fantastic "ride" these books offer.

At the beginning of our story, Keelie holds in her hand a letter from Talbot and Talbot – her mother’s old law firm – letting her know that her home has been sold and that money will be placed in her trust fund. The pain and sorrow still fill her heart, and it comes back to her full force when she reads the letter. After all, as long as there was something still "there" from her past, than there was always a "window" to her old life – and her beloved mother.

Lord Sean is back, as well. Sean is the boy who stole Keelie’s heart and is the "romantic" addition to these fabulous tales. When Keelie is told that the tree shepherd has disappeared and that something horrible could’ve happened to him, she and her grandmother rush to the Renaissance festival to investigate. All of a sudden, the tree shepherd is not the only one missing, as Keelie soon finds that her grandmother has disappeared, as well. Suddenly, each page becomes even more adventurous as Keelie finds herself caught up in an epic tale of an ancient curse, and a goblin prophecy that throws her into a life-and-death struggle to save the people she needs the most.

I can’t say enough about this series, and I certainly don’t want to give anything away. My advice is to go and collect ALL the books that make up these great trilogies as fast as you can; you won’t be disappointed. I am also a huge fan of Renaissance fairs; Scarborough Fair in Texas was an absolute joy, and the "crux" of these stories brings me back into that fantastic world every time. I can’t wait for the next one.

Until next time, Amy

Question or comment regarding the review or the book? Click here and let Amy know.

Featured Reviews
Archived Reviews

© All Rights Reserved 2003-2010
Once Upon A Romance ~ #17 ~ 3601 S. Noland Rd. ~ Independence, MO 64055